.
News Alert
Seal Beach Police, 14 Other Agencies, Crack Down…

Opinion: Bubba the Pig Needs Our Support

Following the Seal Beach pig ban, Bubba the pig needs to be rescued, writes one Seal Beach resident.

Opinion Piece Submitted by Nat Ferguson

Why Do I Scream

It began with screaming.  The screaming persisted and was followed by the overwhelming of smell of fecal matter.  Then the appearance of fly's swarming around the sidewalk area adjacent to Bubba's house.

Neighbors were beginning to talk about it in passing.  Neighbors that own dogs, cats and birds, these people are pet lovers.  Why would a pig weighing over 200 pounds be kept in a one bedroom residential apartment?  Could sharing the space with a dog and it's two owner's be the reason for Bubba's continued cries?

Bubba never exhibits this behavior when he's walking on the greenbelt.  Certainly an animal of this size would be happier if he only had more space, adequate space.  After the weeks of troubling sounds and smells turned to years, it was times for answers.

Turning to the internet it became immediately apparent the primary issue was Bubba's home.  The site www.pigs.org clearly states in one sentence that “Potbellied pigs are not recommended as apartment, condo or townhouse pets”.

According to the same website “Many problems have been associated with keeping pigs full-time including intensified aggressive behavior, urinating & defecating outside the litter pan”.  This sounded a lot like what was going on with Bubba.  But he is a pot belly pig, surely these problems only applied to farm pigs.

Unfortunately Vietnamese potbellied pigs are not small animals as depicted by breeders and promoters.  To our dismay we found an article published in the Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association which confirmed our suspicion.  It states the number one reason given by humane societies for people relinquishing a pig to a shelter is larger than expected size.

Bubba is a cute, sweet animal that deserves the best. Maybe if he had more space he'd be happier, healthier and scream less.  In an article published on the website sugarmtnfarm.com titled “How much land per pig”, the author, a self described farmer & quantum mechanic explains that the animals need “about 10 sq/ft of land per pound of finisher pig equivalent”.  This means Bubba, who per his owners weighs in at around 200 lbs, needs approximately 2,000 sq/ft of space to live adequately.

Upon learning of Bubba's living arrangements on CBS channel 2 news, it was time to call the experts at the animal rehabilitation and rescue non-profit The Gentle Barn.  This organization is committed to protecting animals and acts as a shelter for pets that have outgrown their home's.

Surely the animal friendly community of Seal Beach could see Bubba's suffering.  Seen on the channel 2 news interview, when he steps outside the front door his right hoof buckles.  This is known as foundering, inflammation in the tissue structure to which the hoof is attached which, according to thefreedictionary.com is the result of overeating and lack of exercise. 

Is the city council the only authority who seeks to protect animals that require open space to live a healthy life?  It's appalling to see this issue being painted as neighborhood pet bullying when it's about prevention of animal cruelty.

If there is a local Veterinarian reading this, we implore you as concerned citizens to volunteer your time; visit Bubba at his home to make a formal assessment of this health and living space.  Sitting idly and continuing to point fingers only puts Bubba's health further at risk. 

- Nat Ferguson

===

Letters to the editor and opinion pieces do not necessarily reflect the views of Los Alamitos-Seal Beach Patch. Letters and pieces are subject to editing for space, spelling, style, punctuation and grammar. Also, anonymous letters will not be published, so remember to include your real name. You can email your letter to Los Alamitos-Seal Beach Patch editor John Schreiber at John.Schreiber@patch.com

Dusty Roads November 06, 2013 at 11:14 AM
OK, lets get down to all this B.S., I have seen some real ass----s in my life but Nat and Jared are the two sorriest exscuses for humans that there could possiblly be in this world! They talk so much crap I am pretty sure where the poop smell is really coming from! I can tell all those who have been reading the total nonsense that these two sorry whorthless, lying, animal hating un-educated clowns, that not only are they so miserable that they have to cause havoic in the community, but they are so weak that they pick on women and animals, Good God', cant you two get together and think maybe this family needs a boost in there lives! It is people like you whom give our little town a bad name'( not a pig), It is totally not clear to me how Nat was ever elected to anything that had to do with any decision making, If you have seen the side of Nat that I have seen then you would ask the same thing, Why? Ask him to have his family come support his cause', I am almost certain they will have reservations about his cause! More important' Ask his own brothers how He handles real estate, Hey Nat, How did you come to aquire the property on 1st, I bet your brothers know, can you say TH---, My advise to you NAT', stick to fact and stop causing trouble in this small community, If you ask my opion' You should be the one whom is banned! As for Jarhole', why dont we really say why you ' WERE MOVED'! The real people of Seal Beach no why', Maybe you should wake up and get real pal! You were louder than any animal on the block! And I know a few women around who would say if there was any problem with a pig, that pig is you! Both of you little ladys should grow a pair and talk to the family, Not you Jarhole' you are not even a resident! SO STAY OUT OF THIS! As for you NAT' I dont see you real estate selling days in the near future to busy' I know for a fact that animal haters, people haters dont get to many referals, If you want to ever discuss any of these matters, you can write me on my e-mail and I will gladly tell you who I am, I wont hide behind a BEAST' Have you ever stood face to face to someone or has it allways been your way to bully women or others that cant voice there side, or are you like Jarhole', His specialtty is to bully women in there 80s, And dont deny it Jarhole, because a resident that owns multiple propertys and has been in this town and active with the communitty sure gets more credit than some full of himself, jerk like you! I have much,much,much more for the citizens of Seal Beach if need be, I will be more than happy to exspose some more of Nats past and present daily dealings. So this is your wak-up Nat, you too Jarhole" STOP THE BASHING OF PEOPLE WHO HAVE DONE NOTHING OR STILL CONTINUE TO TRY TO GO ON WITH EVERYDAY THINGS, WHY DONT YOU FOCUS ON REAL ISSUES, OR MAYBE YOUR FAMILY, THERES AN IDEA! Belive Me" you want to keep it up, I will spill all the beans! GROW UP, MAN UP AND LIVE AND LET LIVE' YOUR GIVING SEAL BEACH A BAD NAME, TURN IT AROUND AND BE A MAN, NOT A COWARD BEHIND A COMPUTER! See you at the meeting! P.S. anytime.....
Dusty Roads November 06, 2013 at 11:23 AM
Oh yea, As for Frank and Richard Sounds to Me like you are two more whom hide and make comments and cant back them, why dont you two go join Jarhole in Oklahoma, sounds like you will get along there, As a matter of fact why not just take Nat along, Im sure He misses His drinking, steriod pumped up budy! And whos the Felon?
Nat Ferguson November 06, 2013 at 06:44 PM
For those interested in the truth http://goo.gl/gwtnO5
Frank Grossman November 06, 2013 at 07:15 PM
Dusty Roads... What comments did I make that I cannot back up? Last time I checked, there is a macaw down the way on 17th Street that screams and screeches on a daily basis. There are also a few three legged small dogs in the same vicinity who yelp and snap at anyone who walks by. Also, the stray cats are being eaten by the coyotes and I am no longer finding cat shit in my garden. As for the pig... I really do not think the pet freak show is too far off. So where are my comments so unfounded? I find it pretty incredible that if a person does not side with one's point of view that your opinion is negated, all because you are not a name recognized by a small clique in the city.
Dusty Roads November 06, 2013 at 09:12 PM
I am intiteled to my opion as well as you are! Funny I have been in seal beach for 39 years and until now I have never heard of you, So what does that say about you. Other than this sad issue about bubba I wouldnt care to ever meet you, your angry and very pathetic, you need a hobbie!" might I sujest a positive constructive one.... If you cant be nice dont bother to comment. Other than that I can back my stuff, If you doubt this....name the time and place and we can discuss on a more face to face, but I am sure you are not a face to face guy.......mean tough computer talkers, THATS ALL THEY ARE!!!!!!
Dusty Roads November 06, 2013 at 09:17 PM
To all those bullies out there, Why dont you all make your own web site and then attack yourselfs, because, thats what you are really doing, besides looking like children, Ignorance is really a short cut to the truth.
Sharman Kay Snow November 06, 2013 at 09:38 PM
Frank Grossman: I am one of your neighbors on 17th Street and I am sorry that you find my three legged five pound dog offensive. Two of the three legged dogs on your street were rescued by Seal Beach Animal Care Center and were lucky to be adopted into Old Town families that live on your street. The third dog, Scooby, was rescued by Dave Dutton. All three of us own our own properties and we all keep our dogs under control, moving to the other side of the street when we approach others. Three legged dogs have suffered their own plight and their fears are exaggerated when they feel threatened. We should celebrate the fact that our community has heart enough to rescue those animals that society has thrown away. I also love the Macaw across the street from me that exists in harmony with a beautiful Labrador. Sorry for you that you don't love this street the same as many who have chosen to own property here for years. Even sorrier that you can justify this overreaching government effort aimed at one family in my community.
Shelly G November 06, 2013 at 09:50 PM
Nicely said Sharman Kay Snow!
Frank Grossman November 07, 2013 at 05:19 PM
Dusty Roads... I've never once threatened you or your side of the argument. I've simply voiced my own perspective and would gladly sit with you and have a beer over at Dave's Other Place to discuss our differing perspectives. This childish and unejucated (purposely misspelled for my new beer bud, Dusty) bickering is ridiculous.
Frank Grossman November 07, 2013 at 05:29 PM
Sharman... I'll discuss my thoughts and listen to yours', the next time I see you walking your 5lb ankle biter. However, your statements have pretty much solidified my stereotypes of the "pet freak show".
Shelly G November 08, 2013 at 09:34 AM
This entire topic really should be about city hall imposing emergency ordinances and changing ordinances to suit their own opinions and not those of the majority (government control). It boils down to who you are and who you know! It's pathetic to say the least. Example, while there was a height limit imposed on new structures, old structures were grandfathered in. The city imposed an ordinance specifically to prevent one owner from building up when plans were proposed before the ordinance. Did those that built higher have to destroy or change their structures? No. While I have mixed feelings about Bubba, he is an existing pet and there are worse pets in this city. Also, if this home/apartment is a rental and there have been numerous valid complaints, why hasn't the owner/landlord taken the appropriate action against their tenant?
Madonna Kahn-Grimsley November 08, 2013 at 05:27 PM
Just a few more untruths to clarify! Jared We have lived in the building we used to share about 4 years not five and you were so loud talking on your phone all day i am surprised you could hear anything. Your neighbors endured constant phone ringing and your booming voice echoing down the streets and alleys. While you conducted your business from your home instead of a real business office, you expected all your neighbors to be considerate of you and your important business matters. And loudly you would complain of any noises made. Did anyone ever question if you had a license to conduct business from your home? Probably not because most of the people on Dolphin and Marine are neighborly and will overlook and accept inconveniences in the good spirit of getting along to promote a nice, friendly neighborhood experience. Wishing you well wherever you are and glad you are there! Frank G you are entitled to your opinions...hope someday you let a little joy into your heart! Dusty you are passionate! You also make a good point about the "Bullies"! I don't think you are one yet....Careful! Shelly G I applaud you for your clear sighted vision regarding the real issue of Bubba and the city council. It really isn't about the pig! He is being used as a tool of vindictiveness and revenge in one or two individual's quest to wield control and power where they obviously feel they have none. After 4 years of being targeted and attacked by anonymous complaint letters to my landlord, manufactured complaints against my pig, accusations (unfounded) of drug dealing, complaints to police of party noise when obviously the party was not my home, etc....4 years and none of it has been proven true. We have ignored, looked the other way, tried to get along...all to no avail! Now animal cruelty is the latest campaign now that all of their other efforts have not worked. Funny, I still do not know what Nat has been trying to accomplish with all the hate thrown my way. Just what do you plan to gain with all the treachery?
Sharman Kay Snow November 10, 2013 at 12:32 AM
Frank Grossman: Please tell us your real name because your comments are not what Old Town Seal Beach is all about. Man up and tell us your real name!
Buzzie November 10, 2013 at 11:00 PM
Save Bubba!!!! ❤❤❤❤
The Beast ! November 17, 2013 at 06:06 PM
Thanks NATE ! for displaying the truth !
The Beast ! November 17, 2013 at 06:15 PM
The real facts ! click below http://www.sunnews.org/latest-news/letter-do-what-is-right-for-bubba-and-dolphin-avenue-residents/
The Hunter November 18, 2013 at 03:47 PM
That is nothing but a letter to the Editor, Beast. No facts presented. BTW, this guy lives even farther away from Seal Beach than you do. Butt out.
The Hunter November 18, 2013 at 03:49 PM
BTW,Beast, if you were a resident or actually paying attention, you would know that the matter has been resolved, and Bubba isn't going anywhere. Now go harass your own neighbors, in Bellflower.
The Beast ! November 18, 2013 at 06:34 PM
SMH...........FILTHY ! just plain disgusting
Shelly G November 19, 2013 at 09:16 AM
Really Beast, move along....stay home!
The Beast ! December 06, 2013 at 01:52 AM
At least me and Nate agree about that FILTHY SWINE.......
The Hunter December 06, 2013 at 11:12 AM
Who is "Nate", Beast? Do you mean "Nat"? Why can you not get even the simplest words correct? Proofreading & correcting your posts could be a full time job for a teacher.
chris roy December 06, 2013 at 11:25 AM
Put it to rest. Life goes on. If you have one.
The Hunter December 06, 2013 at 11:31 AM
I'm betting that Nat is not exactly thrilled to have Beast on his side. He's the opposite of a good ally.
The Beast ! December 09, 2013 at 07:41 PM
Nate maybe we should ask the owners of Beachwood BBQ if they will support have Bubba roasted at there establishment we can gather everyone in the community and have a nice meal while saying good buy Bubbalicious............ We can call it Bubba-fest
The Beast ! December 09, 2013 at 07:41 PM
Maybe even have t - shirts made to help support some community need.
The Hunter December 09, 2013 at 08:58 PM
Beast still hasn't figured out that Nat & Nate are 2 different people, and that Beachwood BBQ does not cook & serve pets. Since he still hasn't figured out that the matter has been settled, and Bubba is not going anywhere (no matter how much he whines), I guess we shouldn't be surprised.
S.A.P. December 10, 2013 at 12:06 PM
I would say that The Beast is beating a dead pig, but in this case the pig is alive. It's the issue that is dead.
The Beast ! December 12, 2013 at 02:02 AM
Why is this swine a pet vs other pigs.............hunt ?
The Hunter December 12, 2013 at 05:56 PM
That isn't a serious question, is it? You don't know the definition of a "pet"? Look it up in the dictionary.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something